Provincial Passion in Pretoria

The 53rd Jarvis Kaplan Cup will be contested from 9 – 13 July and hosted by Northerns Squash for the 7th time. The tournament in its present form has come full circle as Pretoria was the first city to host the Jarvis and Kaplan Cups in 1969 when it was decided that the men’s and ladies’ sections should be combined.

Following the death of A.K. Jarvis in 1960 his family donated a trophy for a men’s inter-provincial tournament. In the same year, Cecil and Dorothy Kaplan donated a trophy for the women’s competition. The event thereafter became known as the Jarvis and Kaplan Cup.

The men’s tournament is made up of 4 sections consisting of 6 teams each with KwaZulu-Natal A (2-time Defending Champions), Western Province A (2nd on the all-time list with 8 titles), Central Gauteng A (record 39-time winners), Easterns A, Northerns A and Border A fighting it out for the Jarvis Cup.

There are 2 sections on the ladies’ side – The Kaplan Cup will be contested by Western Province A (Defending Champions and 16-time winners), Central Gauteng A (record 23-time Champions), Northerns A, Eastern Province A, Easterns A and South African Country Districts A.

This world renowned squash tournament and the most competitive team competition in the country provides a great opportunity for up-and-coming youngsters to learn from their experienced teammates and opponents. The mentoring role that the ‘old-guard’ such as Rodney Durbach, Adrian Hansen, Craig van der Wath, Mike Tootill, Paul Atkinson, Farrah Sterne and Angie Clifton-Parks will play could have far-reaching effects.

South Africa’s top professionals – Steve Coppinger (World No.26), Shaun le Roux (PSA No.86), Clinton Leeuw (World No.107), Siyoli Waters (Wispa No.40), Cheyna Tucker (World No.101) and Milnay Louw (Wispa No.143) as well as a handful of International stars – England’s Emma Beddoes (World No.21), Hungary’s Mark Krajcsak (PSA No.56), Englishman Eddie Charlton (World No.88), Kelvin Ndhlovu, Lauren Siddall and Tim Garner will add precision, perfection and professionalism to the mix.

There are a number of youngsters who are on the brink of making it big and if they can absorb as much as possible from the week, they will place themselves on the road to stardom. Anyone of the following could breakthrough in the near future: Christo Potgieter, Rudi Willemse, Andrew Martin, Michael Wood, JP Brits, Thoboki Moholo, Paul Rodrigues, Elani and Lume Landman.

There are far too many players and /or administrators to mention that have and will contribute to the future success and ‘entertainment’ at the Cup but one person who is playing an active role in 2012 is Steve Doeg. The Northerns Chairman was recently elected as President of Squash SA and there is no doubt that the week will be a roaring success as well as a whole lot of fun.

Make your way to the main venue at Pretoria Country Club where the various facilities (golf course, bar, restaurant) are available to make use of in between watching dozens of top-class squash matches.

Written by: Brendon Brash

Jarvis Cup 2011



Check Also

Jarvis/Kaplan Cup Day ONE

Day One results from Port Elizabeth ...

Feel free to leave a comment ...