More top names confirm for Australian Open

Former champion Madeline Perry is among a number of international squash stars who have confirmed their entries for the 2012 Australian Open in Canberra in August.

Perry, who became the first Irishwoman to put her name on the Heather McKay Trophy when she won the 2010 Open in a classic five game final over England’s Alison Waters, is currently ranked fifth in the world but has been as high as number three.

She reached the semi-finals last year before falling to second seed and eventual runner-up Jenny Duncalf.

Her entry means that to date three former women’s champions are in the field for the 2012 Australian Open, to be played on the all-glass court in Canberra’s Royal Theatre from August 13-19.

New Zealand’s Joelle King (2009) and Kasey Brown of Australia (2006) have previously confirmed their participation.

Australian Open tournament director Gary Hampson said on Tuesday that former world junior champion and US number one Amanda Sohby would also be making the trip to Canberra this year after missing the 2011 tournament.

The men’s field has been bolstered by three big names, including two-time runner-up and Australian number one Cameron Pilley, world number 12 Omar Mosaad from Egypt and Botswana’s Alister Walker, the world’s 13th ranked player.

Top Indian player Saurav Ghosal will also join countrywoman Dipika Pallikal in Canberra.

“The Australian Open is one of the most important tournaments on the squash calendar and this importance is reflected in the calibre of players signing up,” Hampson said.


Check Also

PSA World Rankings – July

After claiming his fourth career title by winning the Sporta International in Guatemala, Marwan Elshorbagy climbs to a career-high No.17 in the July PSA World Rankings ...

Feel free to leave a comment ...