OECS Junior Champs 2013



Thu 11th Apr, Day ONE:

Match of the Day

SH_469It was Geronimo Ross (VIN) VS. Zanti Dick-Read (IVB) in the BU15 division that really got the spectators at the National Squash Center on their feet with the excitement and drama that occur during the first five setter of the tournament.

Zanti took the first game 11/9 but Ross never called it quits as he took the second game 11/6 and the third 11/4. However Dick-Read refused to simply hand over the match to Ross without a fight, the British Virgin Island player took the fourth game 11/5. But most of the drama and excitement of this match came in the fifth game with scores constantly being leveled, but it was the Dick-Read who took the lead after all this excitement and drama 10/7 match ball.

However it wasn’t over the Vincentian refuse to let any ball go to the back of the court by constantly volleying the ball down the wall to good lengths which allowed him to save three match points and tie the game 10 all, which allowed him to be victorious in the end 12/10.

Kevin Hannaway, Tournament Director

Day ONE Results:

Full Draws & Results

Boys’ Under 11
Luca Joseph Reich (IVB) Defeated Jordan Barnwell (VIN) 11/0, 11/0, 11/4

Girls’ under 13
Lauryn Doyle (VIN) Defeated Giovanna Miller Alexander (VIN) 11/2, 11/2, 11/3
Lauryn Doyle (VIN) Defeated Paige Cadogan (VIN) 11/4, 11/4, 11/6
Lauryn Doyle (VIN) Defeated Loushanna Peters (VIN) 11/3, 11/1, 11/3

Boys’ Under 13
Kai Bentick (VIN) Defeated Jlan McMaster (VIN) 11/1, 11/2, 11/2
Samuel Childs (IVB) Defeated Jlan McMaster (VIN) 11/2, 11/2, 11/5

Girls’ Under 15
Thandi Myers (VIN) Defeated Johanna Kerins (IVB) 11/1, 11/5, 11/4

Boys’ Under 15
Kai Bentick (VIN) Defeated Ryan Wooldridge (IVB) 11/3, 11/2, 11/0
Geronimo Ross (VIN) Defeated Zanti Dick-Read (IVB) 9/11, 11/6, 11/4, 5/11, 12/10
Kai Bentick (VIN) Defeated Geronimo Ross (VIN) 11/2, 11/4, 11/2

Girls’ Under 17
Deiriai Myers (VIN) Defeated Abayomi Maddox (IVB) 11/6, 11/6, 11/8
Thandi Myers (VIN) Defeated Deiriai Myers (VIN) 11/6, 11/9, 11/4
Gianna Miller Alexander (VIN) Defeated Abayomi Maddox (IVB) 11/1, 11/2, 11/5

Boys’ Under 17
Jason Doyle (VIN) won over Maurice Robertson (VIN) by Default

Girls’ Under 19
Erin Anderson (VIN) Defeated Deiriai Myers (VIN) 11/9, 5/11, 11/8, 9/11, 11/9

Boys’ Under 19
Romario Constance (VIN) Defeated Eshwan Adams (VIN) 11/2, 11/2, 11/1

Full Draws & Results



This year Junior OECS [Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States] Squash Championships will be held in St. Vincent at the Nationals Squash Centre in Paul’s Avenue from 11-14 April,

216060_10150157907281768_3384138_n30 players from the respective OECS Squash countries of British Virgin Island, Dominica, St. Lucia and host St. Vincent and the Grenadines competing to be #1 in their respective categories over the three days period of competition. There are some 60 plus matches expected to be played on the two courts at the Centre, they are expected to be full of excitement.

At the end of the competitions a team would be selected to represent the OECS at this year’s Junior Caribbean Squash Championships to be held in the twin Island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago from 21st-28th July.

Thursday 11 April Schedule | |  Friday 12 April Schedule | Saturday 13 April Schedule  | 


Teams Information

Team British Virgin Island (IVB)

Luca Joseph Reich – BU11 & BU13
Samuel Leighton Childs – BU13
Ryan Paul Wooldridge – BU15
Zanti Dick-Read – BU15
Kerstin Gordon – GU15
Johanna Kerins – GU15
Emily Abrehart – GU15
Abayomi Maddox –GU15 & GU17
Erika Sorrentino –GU19
Erin Anderson –GU19

Coach –Joseph Faragher Kneipp

Team Dominica (DMA)

Samson Viville –BU15

Team St. Lucia (LCA)

Zeina Reyes –GU17
Luc Chevrier –BU15
Andre Segovia –BU17 & BU19
Marc Spurway –BU17 & BU19
Coach –Monique Devaux-Lovell

Team St. Vincent and the Grenadines (VIN)

Giovanna Miller Alexander –GU11 & GU13
Paige Cadogan – GU11 & GU13
Loushanna Peters – GU11 & GU13
Lauryn Doyle – GU13 & GU15
Thandi Myers – GU15 & GU17
Deiriai Myers – GU17 & GU19
Gianna Miller Alexander – GU17 & GU19
Jordan Barnwell –BU11
Jlan McMaster –BU11 & BU13
Kai Bentick –BU13 & BU15
Geronimo Ross –BU15
Jason Doyle –BU17 & BU19
Maurice Robertson –BU17
Eshwan Adams –BU19
Romario Constance –BU19

Coach –James Bentick

[/one-half] [one-half  last=”y”]

Previous Winners

Boys’ Individuals


Kai Bentick (VIN)


Jason Doyle (VIN)


Rory Thornton (IVB)


Kevin Hannaway (VIN)


Girls’ Individuals


Thandi Myers (VIN)


Demi Ollivierre (VIN)


Gianna Miller Alexander (VIN)


Gianna Miller Alexander (VIN)


Kevin Hannaway, Tournament Director

Check Also

Lower Tin to be trialled for Women

The PSA announces that they will conduct a four month trial into the suitability of reducing the height of the tin in competitive women’s matches from 19” to 17” ...

Feel free to leave a comment ...